IF IT WERE LOVE…⛅

Would you still choose me?

Does your heart beat for me?

What about the thought of me,

Does it stir up something in you?

And is the feeling still profound-

As was on the first day?

Would your mind go berserk,

If I said I loved you too-

Would it not, did the feeling die?

Are the things of old dead, past?

Do you still see them anymore?

Do they make sense anymore,

Or was it pure folly, forgotten?

The feeling wasn’t mutual,

It’s still not, I confess

If for goodness sake it were,

Would I not have confessed that very day!

Would not my heart be consumed,

As with a fire from within?

Would my lips be spared-

From singing the song I’ve never sang?

Certainly not, I suppose.

Certainly not!

I would gasp for air,

For I’m sure you’d take my breath-

Away, and blow my mind,

Away, so to lose my sanity,

Away, leaving me a girl naked-

Without shame of letting it show-

A love that betrays.

How I know this?

I certainly don’t know,

For this-my own making,

If reality stroke me I’d know well,

It would leave me helpless,

For true love is not a thing of darkness,

It’s light would sure glow

It’s a mystery mysterious in nature,

It’s mastery a thing untaught,

For I have witnessed it’s work,

Like a spell cast on a two-some,

That thrives up hill and down,

Covering multitude of faults, flaws

But until then I know not more,

I’d rather not try to either,

It’s a giant still sleeping

And I unsure of what it’s capable of,

Choose not to awaken love till it’s due.

One thought on “IF IT WERE LOVE…⛅

Leave a comment