evoL

Pinterest Pic

I have an issue with how you handle issues,
Especially when they’re anthills made into mountains,
I’ve tread the ground of loving you for a while now,
And part of you was like walking on eggshells,
I have had for you a carefree love, a forgiving one,
One that remembers not all the heartaches,
One that buries mistakes,allows them lie with their father,
And I have chosen to put on love as an amour,
Against every flaw of yours, against every mistake.

But you…
Have you not handed your fears all control?
Have you not given them your very birth right?
They roam this palace which is you,
Giving orders here and there,
Stopping love and her witty projects,
Some am certain are here to stay.
You have let fear control,
There is no love in fear.

You’re afraid that you’ll become like him,
And I’ll become like her,
That you might suffer in solitude,
While I carry on alright.
Such selfish desires!
Are you not afraid that we’ll make a bad couple?
Are you not scared to death that you’ll be henpecked?
Because to you, a strong-willed woman is intimidating,
But do you want a weak woman in your life?
Do you want a slave, who waits for your orders,
What is it you really want?

You professed of my beauty,
Called me a rare find,
One that you’d never find in others,
But every time you feed your fears,
I feel you’re choosing them over love,
Over and over again, everyday, every now and then,
Giving in to our differences,
Like where our personalities collide,
And how your opinions feel forgone,
Are they certainly forgone?

So I sit and wait,
For the Lord to lead,
For I too have failed,
I’ve been unable to focus in this war,
I’ve begun to stagger in despair,
My heart keeps worrying,
And the confidence I have in us,
Dwindles like a drying lamp,
I don’t know love without Love,

Maker of the universe,
Won’t you speak to me too,
If we need to take time,
Please let me hear you I plead,
For I need less of this,
And more of your will revealed,
And if this may be for fading,
Like season into season,
Keep my heart yet prepared,
That I might not freeze in winter’s cold.

26.6.2020

12 thoughts on “evoL

  1. Human love is difficult…But God’s love is like a bright sunny morning, the peace in a heavy storm. He is the one that isn’t complicated. He is plain and simple. Love me and I will love You. Trust the process the one who gets you will come.
    Epic piece!!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks Ken. Poetry is about putting your unspoken life thoughts and emotions on the line for someone else to know that they are not alone. That life happens to us all and that to all suffering, there is an end. It certainly is an answered prayer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment