WHAT HAPPENED TO ME!

alone-guy-dark-hoodie-chair-black-white-rohanrathore.com_.jpg

It’s been a long while,

Since I was last myself,

I’ve been lost in this ‘person’,

I can hardly recognize.

 

I lost ‘me’ someplace in this place

Some time in the walks of life,

Somewhere on this earth we trod.

I once was someone, not anymore.

 

I’m now a scumbag,

The kind kids haul jeers at,

For my pants are often sagging,

When I forget to wear my belt.

 

My children are fatherless,

They call me “DAD”-

Distanced Absent Dude

I don’t blame them.

 

Help me find him,

An upright handsome man,

Walked with shoulders held high,

Who smiled a brilliant smile.

 

Memories of days exist-

Days I put a meal on the table,

Days my friends came to me-

For expertise and finances.

 

Days I was consulted,

Now I feel assaulted,

Devoid of all wisdom,

Once distinguished, now in anguish.

 

I’d say my wife married me,

I cannot fend my own self,

Worse still- I’m like another child,

Among the sons we’ve conceived.

 

Our story is no “happy-ever-after”

I’m sorry it’s one tragic affair,

I wonder how I’m still pointing fingers,

At all these father-figure failures.

 

Doctors wouldn’t blame it on drug abuse,

Counselors couldn’t find depressants,

I’m no psycho path, they know it.

Just a human displaced in his self.

 

Start my heart again,

Use defibrillators if need be.

I’m done watching it squeezed out-

The little juice that’s still in me.

 

I’m a broken machine,

Dumped in a rusty garage,

I know one who can fix me.

The hands that made me.

frustrated_depression_man_in_the_hood_sitting_on_wooden_cg1p66612904c_th

8 thoughts on “WHAT HAPPENED TO ME!

Leave a comment